Monday, September 3, 2018

Ours for a Season by Kim Vogel Sawyer

37703553

Ours for a Season

by 
An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke's vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most.

My Thoughts:
Kim Vogel Sawyer’s newest novel, Ours for a Season, is a inspirational, yet emotional story. This is a book that is just wonderful, yet full of emotions. I don't cry a lot during books, but several times throughout this book, I had tears coming down my face. Ms. Sawyer knows how to bring out the emotions in this particular novel, especially as she draws in such a deep topic into the story and weaves it throughout. Weaving in human trafficking and homeless teenagers makes this story very relatable and also heartbreaking. 
Also, the story of weaving in the heartbreak of not being able to conceive a child is also one that is painful and very real. I love that Ms. Sawyer is able to take difficult topics and put them into her books to make them relatable. I found this book to be inspiring and a book that I couldn't stop reading. I highly recommend reading it.

About the Author:
Kim Vogel SawyerAward-winning, bestselling author Kim Vogel Sawyer told her kindergarten teacher that someday people would check out her book in the library. The little-girl dream came true in 2006 with the release of Waiting for Summer's Return. Kim's titles now exceed 1.5 million copies and are available in six different language. A former elementary school teacher, she now enjoys a full-time writing and speaking ministry. Kim's passion lies in writing stories that point the reader to a deeper, more intimate relationship with God. When Kim isn't writing, you'll find her traveling with her retired military hubby, spoiling her granddarlings, petting the cats, quilting, or--as time allows--participating in community theater. You can learn more about Kim's writing and speaking ministries at her website, KimVogelSawyer.com.


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher but was not required to write a review.

No comments: