Saturday, January 6, 2018

Beneath the Summer Sun An Every Amish Season Novel By Kelly Irwin

Beneath the Summer SunAn Every Amish Season Novel

By Kelly Irwin 

Jennie Troyer knows it’s time to remarry, and with two men pursuing her, she doesn’t have to look far. But after the pain she’s experienced, can she open her heart to love?
It’s been four years since Jennie’s husband died in a farming accident. Long enough that the elders in her Amish community think it’s time to shed her grief and remarry for the sake of her seven children. What they don’t know is it isn’t grief that’s holding her back, but rather a fear of a repeat of her abusive marriage.
Paul Graber has known--and loved--Jennie since they were children, and he’d hoped to court her when they were teenagers. But when he was fourteen, Paul’s father died suddenly in his arms. Ever since he’s been afraid of the searing pain of loss that comes from opening himself up to love. Now Jennie’s free again and he’s fighting to have the courage not to lose her a second time.
Nathan Walker is a Mennonite book salesman who makes it a point to stop by Jennie’s farm as often as he can. He’s grown to care for her, but he knows he has no right to court her unless he resolves his own struggle with his faith. He will have to change everything about his life in order to join the Jamesport Amish community. But would he be embracing a new life or running from his old?
My Thoughts: 
Kelly Irvin is a voice in the Amish Fiction world that is grabbing from the get go and is perfect at bringing the reader into Jamesport Amish community with each of the characters. You feel as though you are apart of the town with Jennie even though you wonder the entire time who she will choose to marry or will she even choose to marry? After all that she has been through and her children. This book addresses real issues and I found it captivating, interesting and so good! I couldn't put it down. If I write too much, I'll end up squealing and giving this entire book away, but go grab a copy. You won't be disappointed. I give this book 5/5 stars. 
About the Author:
Kelly IrvinKelly Irvin's newest series, Every Amish Series, began with the debut of Upon a Spring Breeze, in April. The second book, Beneath the Summer Sun, will debut in January 2018. It is a four-book series published by Zondervan/HarperCollins Christian Publishing. This follows the Amish of Bee County series, The Saddle Maker's Son, released in June 2016. It is an ECPA bestseller. It follows The Bishop's Son, and the critically acclaimed bestseller, The Beekeeper's Son, which earned a starred review from Publishers Weekly. The reviewer called it "a beautifully woven masterpiece." The Beekeeper's Son was a finalist in the romance category of the 2016 ACFW Carol Awards Contest. 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Love Amish fiction. I am gonna buy this book.