Saturday, February 22, 2014

Where Courage Calls

Where Courage Courage Calls is written by Janette Oke and daughter, Laurel Oke Logan. It is a companion to the Hallmark Channel's Original Series " When Calls the Heart Tv" series. As a Hallmark Channel lover, I thought I would really enjoy this kind of book. The book and the Tv. series are a bit different, so don't go in thinking they are the same thing.. FYI...

Cover Art

This book is about a Beth Thatcher who has spent her who life living the comfortable life with her family and friends near her. She decides to be adventerous, get on a car train and head to Canada where she accepts a teaching position. Her father encouraged her to seek this new adventure. Beth new the journey would not be easy, but she did not expect the many bumps and bruises she would experience along the way. Of course, this story wouldn't be one without a little plot of romance and heart break along the way.

Beth is torn between Edward, a man of the past and Jarrick, a possible man for her future. Join Beth as she learns to trust God and lean on him during a difficult times. 

My Thoughts:
Parts of the book I really enjoyed and other parts were a bit slow for me. I have never read a book by Janette Oke, so this was my first read. I have a hard time rating this book because it was my first read. The last part of the book picked up for me when the romance was brought forth, but I had a really hard time in the middle of the book. It was a bit slow for my taste. I would rate this book 3.5 stars. However, to be fair, I would read another book by Janette Oke because I have heard great things about her books. Don't take my review for it! Read it yourself because you might love it and think my review was terrible! Everyone enjoys different books! I received a complimentary copy for my honest review, I was not compensated for a positive review.

Authors Info:
Janette Oke is know across the world for her contribution to the Christian book industry. She is credited with have sold over 30 million copies of Loves Come Softly. She currently resides in Alberta, Canada with her husband, Edward.

Laurel Oke Loagan, is the daughter of Janette and Edward Oke. She has also been the co-author of several other books. Laurel and her husband have six children of their own and two sons-in law. They live in Indiana. 

No comments: