Saturday, January 20, 2018

Messina (The Casa Bella Chronicles #1) by Liz Galvano

27426198

Messina (The Casa Bella Chronicles #1)

About:
Ominous words from the stone-faced physician at the temporary hospital greet her: “Welcome to hell, Miss James.” No description could be more accurate. Earthquake, tsunami, and fire have razed Messina, Sicily. In a single night in 1909, one hundred thousand people never wake up. Physician Lucille James is determined to help despite horrendous conditions, almost non-existent medical supplies, and the opposition of the medical community she worked so hard to join. Giovanni Castello, the man facing her now, stands as her biggest opponent. Surrounded by blood and death and pushed to the edge of exhaustion, Lucille relies on God as her only option. When God gives a gift, after all, a person must use it. Will she have the strength, courage, and faith to do so?


My Thoughts:
Messina is an extraordinary book with fascinating characters and elements of faith in one of the most unique settings. Rich in details, Italian culture, romance and natural disasters, take a step back in 1908, into the city of Messina. After an earthquake hit and multiple tsunamis after, the injuries among the people are staggering. 

Dr. Lucille James and Dr. Giovanni Castello are the two main characters in this story. Between the surgeries, wit, humor and the bantering back and forth, you'll love both of these characters. The strong elements of faith that Dr. James displays among each of her patients is remarkable. With several close calls, will Dr. Giovanni allow Lucille to practice surgeries without his supervision? 

This book makes the reader feel as though they are transported into this historical setting. It is rich with emotion, infused with tension and deep with disaster. The author does a fantastic job about providing great insight to Italy and utilizing Italians words or phrases throughout the book, which makes it all the more real. She even includes an Index with translations in the back. The history and the research behind this book is untouchable. This book is a historical masterpiece and one to be read over and over again.  The characters continue to remain in my mind.  

Overall, I cannot stop thinking about this extraordinary Historical Fiction novel. I am thrilled to read more in The Casa Bella Chronicles Series. I highly recommend that you order a copy of this book today. You will not be disappointed. I would give this book more than five stars if it were possible.

About the Author:
Liz Galvano

Liz Galvano has been writing since she was a little girl. Her stories combine old style adventure and romance with a dash of humor. She loves family, food, animals, and all things Italian. Liz lives with her husband Jeff, two rambunctious dogs, two entitled cats, and two horses, Murphy and Twila






Friday, January 19, 2018

Fierce Faith A Woman's Guide to Fighting Fear, Wrestling Worry, and Overcoming Anxiety By Alli Worthington



Fierce FaithA Woman's Guide to Fighting Fear, Wrestling Worry, and Overcoming Anxiety

By Alli Worthington 

About:

Sometimes Jesus’s call to “fear not” seems like the hardest instruction to follow.
Some days you faultlessly juggle everything that is your life—kids, husband, house, job, church, friendships, school, pets, appointments, and on and on. Other days the very thought of which ball you’re going to drop puts your anxiety level through the roof. You’re afraid you’re forgetting something. And you are: God’s advice to fear not. Alli Worthington knows all about the ways a woman can be hard on herself. She shares her own fear struggles with humor and honesty—while offering real strategies for coping with life’s big worries as well as those little everyday worries.
Alli uses biblical wisdom and practical insight to help you:
Identify fear-based thinking.
Overcome the big and little worries in life.
Learn a simple trick to stop the anxiety spiral.
Live a more confident, less worried life.
Grab a cup of coffee and sit down for some encouragement from a friend. Alli’s no-nonsense, wise advice will lighten your heart and help you cut through the daily clutter of fear and worry to reconnect with your own fierce faith.
My Thoughts:
Oh, I wish I could sit over a cup of coffee and tell you about my real thoughts regarding "Fierce Faith." This book is amazing! While it's filled with amazing truths from Alli Worthington, it's also filled with her heart. I need truth, grace and authenticity when I am struggling with a deep issue. Alli meets me right in the middle of the mess. We all have seasons of life where an author or book speaks to the heart of an issue we are facing and Alli speaks to my heart. She gives practical ways to live out and face fear, anxiety, while tackling it daily. I love how she has stories with humor and grace. I felt encouraged while reading this book and never alone. I really enjoyed this book and think you will too! 


Thursday, January 18, 2018

Isaiah's Daughter (Prophets and Kings #1) by Mesu Andrews


33916341Isaiah's Daughter (Prophets and Kings #1)

by 
Summary:
In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bibleminiseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

My Thoughts:
Isaiah's Daughter is a book that you do not want to miss. Oh, this fiction novel is one that will deepen your walk with the Lord as you draw closer to him. His love, justice, mercy and righteousness are displayed in Hezekiah, Hephzibah and Isaiah. 
I have never studied the book of Isaiah in depth, but this novel made the book come to life, especially as I saw the lives of those who were struggling with the prophecies about the coming of the Messiah. They wanted to know who would be the Prince of Peace? It's so interesting and what what a great perspective to read. It brings the Bible to life on a whole different angle that I had never really seen, but the reality is that God is faithful to his people and that is what is carried throughout.
This book is a great reminder that apart from God, we are doing everything in our own strength and it's going to go down bad. We need to fix our eyes on Him and allow God to provide the answers to our problems, not for us to fix them. Apart from Him, we are a mess. This book was a great reminder and was also just a wonderful read. 

About the Author:
Mesu AndrewsMesu grew up with a variegated Christian heritage. With grandparents from the Pilgrim Holiness, Nazarene, and Wesleyan Churches, her dad was a Quaker and mom charismatic. As you might imagine, God was a central figure in most family discussions, but theology was a battlefield and Scripture the weapon. As a rebellious teenager, Mesu rejected God and His Word, but discovered Jesus as a life-transforming Savior through the changed life of an old friend.esu writes in their log cabin tucked away in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains. Her best friend is an American Staffordshire Terrier named Zeke, who keeps her company on long writing days. Zeke also enjoys watching movies, long walks in the woods, and sitting by the fireplace on rainy days.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

THE MELODY OF THE SOUL BY LIZ TOLSMA | BLOG TOUR, GIVEAWAY, AND FACEBOOK LIVE PARTY


THE MELODY OF THE SOUL BY LIZ TOLSMA | BLOG TOUR, GIVEAWAY, AND FACEBOOK LIVE PARTY


Travel back in time to 1943 and meet Anna Zadok, a Jewish Christian and concert violinist whose career is ended because of Nazi occupation in Prague. Don’t miss the new historical novel, The Melody of the Soul, by Liz Tolsma. Though musical instruments have been declared illegal, Anna defiantly continues to play the violin. But Officer Horst Engel, quartered in Anna’s flat and dissatisfied with German ideology, enjoys her soothing music. When Anna and her grandmother face deportation, Horst risks everything to protect them.
Join Liz Tolsma and other bookworms for a Facebook Live event on February 6, plus enter to win Liz’s prize pack giveaway!
One grand prize winner will receive:
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on February 6. The winner will be announced at Liz’s Facebook Live Party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Liz and other readers, as well as for a chance to win other prizes!

RSVP TODAY AND SPREAD THE WORD—TELL YOUR FRIENDS ABOUT THE GIVEAWAY AND FACEBOOK LIVE PARTY VIA SOCIAL MEDIA AND INCREASE YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING. HOPE TO SEE YOU ON THE 6TH!

###

{MORE ABOUT THE MELODY OF THE SOUL}

The Melody of the Soul(Gilead Publishing, January 2018)
Anna has one chance for survival—and it lies in the hands of her mortal enemy.
It’s 1943 and Anna Zadok, a Jewish Christian living in Prague, has lost nearly everything. Most of her family has been deported, and the Nazi occupation ended her career as a concert violinist. Now Anna is left to care for her grandmother, and she’ll do anything to keep her safe—a job that gets much harder when Nazi officer Horst Engel is quartered in the flat below them.
Though musical instruments have been declared illegal, Anna defiantly continues to play the violin. But Horst, dissatisfied with German ideology, enjoys her soothing music. When Anna and her grandmother face deportation, Horst risks everything to protect them.
Anna finds herself falling in love with the handsome officer and his brave heart. But what he reveals might stop the music forever.

My Thoughts:
Liz Tolsma is a fantastic author, but she outdid all of her previous novels with The Melody of Souls! This book is incredible and one of my all time favorites. I could not believe how hard it was to put it down. It has to be one of the better WWII Fiction novels I have ever read. From the first chapter till the last page of the book, I couldn't put this emotional roller coaster of a love story down. I love how she writes of a German Nazi and a woman named Anna. The connection between the two and the questions that Anna asks of this man are thought provoking as the reader. This book is stunning! If you love Historical Fiction, you will love this novel and you will put it on your shelf to read again. The chemistry is simply breath taking. I loved the element that music played a role in as well. I give this book a raving review. Make sure to purchase you copy today!

Liz Tolsma

{MORE ABOUT LIZ TOLSMA}

Best-selling novelist Liz Tolsma is the author of several World War II novels and prairie romance novellas. She also works as a freelance editor. She lives in a semirural area of Wisconsin with her husband and two daughters. Her son serves with the US Marines. All of their chidlren came to them through international adoption. Her other passions include walking, gardening, camping, and reading.
Find out more about Liz at http://www.liztolsma.com.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert


35673517No One Ever Asked

by 
Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.



Katie Ganshert